NonToxicReviews.comNonToxicReviews.com
HomePage Reviews Store Podcast

April 6th, 2017 by Stinkhead


17circus_08

Ringling Bros’ final visit to Washington DC was last weekend and we got to go check it out. This tour’s theme is Out of this World and features a fantastic, cosmic flare. I loved all the planets, and astronauts, and intergalactic travel. A new twist was the inclusion of ice on portions of the floor. The clowns and acrobats incorporated seemingly effortless skating into their feats and tricks. Yes, the elephants have been retired, and they were missed, but the circus prevailed and the show went on, for this weekend and families in the DC area.

Read the rest of this entry »


Posted in 3&up, 5&up, baby, Boys, event, Girls, kids, review | Comments Off

March 31st, 2017 by Stinkhead


rb2015_12

I got to ring up Paulo dos Santos and talk about his role in the Ringling Bros circus, how he got his start and what the future holds. After 146 years, the Ringling Bros and Barnum & Bailey Circus will be retiring from the road.

Paulo was born in Sao Paulo, Brazil. When he was 11, Paulo witnessed an acrobatics demonstration at his school and was hooked from that moment on. He wanted to do get into dance and martial arts, but as his size (4’3″) many of his classmates teased him and told him he could never do tricks and feats like the acrobats. That didn’t stop Paulo, as he got older he trained and became proficient in Capoeira, a Brazilian martial art. In 2006 he got his certification of Master in Capoeira. After winning several competitions, including first place in the National Capoeira Competition, he was spotted by Ringling Bros talent agent and snatched up immediately.

Though bittersweet, this is the final tour of the Ringling Bros Circus. I asked Paolo and his favorite aspect of being with the circus is that he has been lucky to be a small part of something that’s been around for so long, be a part of that legacy. He’ll also miss the family of the traveling company and all the traditions of that family.




Image courtesy NH Register

We asked Paulo what was next, and currently he’s not sure. He’d love to get back to Brazil, but for now is exploring extending his Visa so he can stay in the states. Feld Entertainment has said they’re working to try and find employment for all of their circus personnel within their other productions. We asked Paulo if there was a future for him as a Monster Jam driver, but he laughed and said though not likely, it wasn’t out of the question!


In his three tours with the circus, Paulo brought a spark of energy and motivation to the company while on the road. We’ll be checking out Out of this World later this week. Paulo said to get excited about the motorcycles, the horses, and the amazing experience. Looking forward to it Paulo, and seeing where the world takes you next.


Don’t miss the last time you can ever catch the Ringling Bros circus. Click here for dates and tickets!


Posted in 5&up, event | Comments Off

August 4th, 2016 by Stinkhead



Disney knocked it out of the park again with a sweet, beautifully animated, and surprisingly thoughtful movie. I love how it is ultimately entertaining with a great story, humor, and enjoyable characters. However there is wonderfully socially responsible (dare I say lesson) message. Click below for more.
Read the rest of this entry »


Posted in 5&up, article, Boys, gifts, Girls, kids, Movies, review | Comments Off

February 29th, 2016 by Stinkhead


2016MJ_32

Monster Jam landed with a bang at Baltimore’s Royal Farms Arena this past weekend. We watched Zombie, Grave Digger, Max D, Scooby Doo, Monster Mutts Dalmation and Rottweiler, and NEA battle it out in head to head and freestyle competitions. There were a lot of changes to the Monster Jam format. Check out my write-up and huge gallery of awesome pics, below.

Read the rest of this entry »


Posted in 3&up, Boys, event, Girls, kids, Monster Trucks | Comments Off

February 24th, 2016 by Stinkhead


a scene from Pixar's The Good Dinosaur

Pixar’s latest movie hits home media today, so you can follow Arlo and Spot as they make their way back home. We watched it and all the bonus features, so check out my review below.

Read the rest of this entry »


Posted in 3&up, 5&up, Boys, Girls, kids, Movies, review | Comments Off

February 22nd, 2016 by Stinkhead


Zombie

I had the pleasure of speaking with Monster Jam Zombie driver Bari Musawwir late last week. We’re gearing up for Monster Jam’s descent on Baltimore this weekend, and we wanted to get to know one of the drivers better. Click below as we pick Bari’s braaaaaaains.

Read the rest of this entry »


Posted in 5&up, Monster Trucks, sports | Comments Off

February 5th, 2016 by Stinkhead



We fell in love with Modarri Cars this year. You can drive the car easily with one finger, thanks to its incredible suspension. But it doesn’t end there, mix and match the pieces in millions of combinations to customize your own awesome ride.


Stay tuned for our 2016 Toy Fair coverage starting next weekend!


Posted in 5&up, Boys, gadgets, Girls, kids, podcast, review, toys, video | Comments Off

September 29th, 2015 by Stinkhead


We take a look at the NERF Zombie Strike Doominator. It features 24 darts, and in our tests, shot just over 30 feet. Our eight year old tester loves this gun, and is excited to show you why. Watch in HD

Like our video? Click below for additional NERF reviews

Read the rest of this entry »


Posted in 5&up, Boys, gadgets, Girls, kids, podcast, review, toys, video | Comments Off

March 20th, 2015 by Stinkhead


rb2015_04

Last night we went to the 144th Ringling Bros Greatest Show on Earth at the Verizon Center in Washington DC. As you know from my interview with ringmaster Johnathan Lee Iverson, we had been counting down the days towards the big night.

Read the rest of this entry »


Posted in 3&up, event, kids | Comments Off

March 18th, 2015 by Stinkhead


The Ringmaster Johnathan Iverson

It’s that time of year… the circus is back in town! We’re going tomorrow night, and I can hardly focus on anything. I did have to calm myself long enough to focus on speaking with esteemed ringmaster Johnathan Iverson. I got to interview him before our big night, and he shared some fantastic insight on what’s in store for us, and how he lives the life of a ringmaster and keeps up with the ever-changing show.

Read the rest of this entry »


Posted in 3&up, 5&up, Boys, event, Girls, kids | Comments Off

Next page

NonToxicReviews.com

Contact us:
Editor AT NonToxicReviews.com


Join our Facebook group

AddThis Feed Button

Categories

Archives


click here to give me advice


Wordpress Theme powered by AgeOwns.com | ©AgeOwns Productions