NonToxicReviews.comNonToxicReviews.com
HomePage Reviews Store Podcast

July 31st, 2008 by Stinkhead


I was thinking about my Toy Run video the other week, the one where I take my son around to various toy stores, showing him everything. I made a joke in the post that I could potentially be cultivating ADD later in life.
Is ADD genetic? Is it learned?
As a hobbyist toy collector and reviewer, our house is full of toys. It can be overwhelming. I can be overwhelming. As I get excited over which toys my son likes the most, I find myself constantly providing entertainments, but I also find myself asking, am I doing too much? Will he get used to a constant “feed feed feed” and not be able to concentrate on the things that do not interest him? If he’s playing with one toy, and I go to “clean up” another one he’s not playing with, his attention instantly goes to the one I’m touching. I know that’s normal and healthy for an infant, but if his life is constantly a choice between 2, or 3, or 20 different distractions, that I am ultimately responsible for, am I doing him a disservice for later in life?
School will be boring. There will be 30 other kids. At least. This is the last time in his life that someone is paying attention to his every need, including boredom or lack there of.

I was never diagnosed with any type of learning disability as a child, but I worry that my behavior and habits can be passed along. I certainly don’t want to damage the little guy, or make his 13 years of school that much more difficult.

On top of all the concentration issues, I also worry about the materialistic aspects. At some point I’ll have to say “no, I’m not buying that” or even “I know you saved up enough money and you can afford ____, but you’re not allowed to buy it” (Then he’ll just buy it and blog it 20 years later, just like I did here.)

What did you do to make sure you didn’t overload the kid growing up? Are there milestones or measures you can use to make sure you’re not going overboard?


Posted in advice, article, baby | Comments Off

July 24th, 2008 by Stinkhead



Today we review the Tooth Tunes and Tooth Tunes Jr. (for ages 3 & up)
There are a variety of songs available. Popular artists such as Kelly Clarkson and Hannah Montana for the older kids, and Disney songs on the Jr.
Essentially a song plays through the bristles to your jawbone, so that you hear the song in your inner ear. When you get it right, it sounds as if it’s playing right in your brain.
I also like how different it sounds in the next room, so you can tell if your kid is brushing for the full 2 minutes (1 minute on the Jr) or simply running the brush under the faucet.
Here is their official site with all of the health information. We got this for $10 at CVS/Wal*Mart/Target.

Our final verdict is that it’s great for the kids just learning to brush. The music definately gets them to want to brush longer, however older kids/teenagers may never see brushing as cool, but enjoyed the contemporary tunes.

We discussed this toothbrush on Magic 106.5 this morning. Click below to hear the broadcast.
Read the rest of this entry »


Posted in 10&up, 3&up, 5&up, Boys, cringe, gadgets, Girls, kids, Magic106.5, podcast, review, video | Comments Off

July 18th, 2008 by Stinkhead


So this week I chatted about the ATC3K Action Cam by Oregon Scientific. To me, the coolest benefit is that if your preteen is getting to that age where they don’t want to be as physically active (swimming, biking, playing sports) but would rather goof around online with friends, you can bring both worlds together by introducing this shock resistant, waterproof helmet cam. Strap it to your bike helmet, or attach it to your skateboard, you can make some cool videos ready to go straight on to YouTube.
Click below to listen to us chat about this cam on Magic 106.5
Read the rest of this entry »


Posted in 10&up, gadgets, Magic106.5, review, toys | Comments Off

July 17th, 2008 by Stinkhead


I was passed this Cracked article about baby products that will traumatize children.

This one would traumatize me. (Yes, these are all real)
copyright Nose Frida
Baby Snot Sucker Straw
Oh hey, it is BPA free!

Check out some of those other products.


Posted in baby, cringe, gadgets, linky | 2 Comments »

July 16th, 2008 by Stinkhead


I strapped on the new ATC3K Action Cam from Oregon Scientific, grabbed my son and went on a massive toy run. I used to do this to look for specific action figures, but today was to expose my kid to informed shopping. Either that or seriously creating some future ADD. We were on the hunt for playmobil, an alligator puppet, and whatever else we could see. Hey, this video is like being Mr. Stinkhead for 6 and a half minutes. Fun!

I didn’t mention the store names, because I’m filming around their place, criticizing their prices (in the first one anyway) Anyway, if my little guy learned anything this past weekend it was, call ahead, shop around.
See, I’ve been working on cultivating a smart little consumer for months, check out this free Children’s book I made that you can download and print out and teach your little one all about colors.

Note if you watch this on you tube directly, be sure to watch it in high quality. The low quality of this one is terrible.


Posted in 5&up, 8&up, baby, cringe, gadgets, kids, playmobil, podcast, review, toys, video | Comments Off

July 11th, 2008 by Stinkhead


The Shaping Staff

There was an online discussion on OffSprung.com the other day about experiences you can’t wait to share with your little one. There are tons of things, but I particularly can’t wait until we’re at an appropriate TV-watching age and he can watch old episodes of He-Man with me. I loved He-Man (more importantly Skeletor) and now that I have most of the series on DVD, I can’t wait to program my own Saturday morning blocks. (Pee-Wee’s Playhouse, followed by Smurfs after that)
Just check out these Minisodes that are popping up. She-Ra is next! (for the ladies I mean… yeah, thats’ the ticket)
Speaking of He-Man, there will be some big announcements about the NEW He-Man and the Masters of the Universe line coming out at the San Diego Comic Con (SDCC) in two weeks… stay tuned. In the meantime, chekc out these minisodes.


Posted in 5&up, Boys, cringe, kids, linky, toys | Comments Off

July 10th, 2008 by Stinkhead


Jack and I talked about the new playmobil Car Wash and RC Car (click for earlier review and video) on Magic 106.5.
Click below to hear us talking about these new sets.
Read the rest of this entry »


Posted in Magic106.5, playmobil, review | Comments Off

July 9th, 2008 by Stinkhead


Score! I got to do an early review of three brand new playmobil sets coming out next month.
The Remote Control Pick-up Truck, Custom Auto Body shop, and the Car Wash. Check out the pics and review here.
Playmobil Automotive Review

The video below demonstrates the playmobil carwash playset (4320) and the Remote Control pick up truck (4322) and includes video of my infant son going through his first (real) car wash, and chasing after the RC truck.

This video ©2008 MillionairePlayboy.com. All music is © their respective owners.This video shows a small infant playing with an RC vehicle. This is for entertainment purposes only. It is only recommended that children FOUR and OLDER play with playmobil toys. Furthermore, playmobil recommends this specific RC toy for ages SIX and older. Don’t try this at home.


Posted in 5&up, Boys, cringe, gadgets, kids, playmobil, podcast, Remote Control, review, toys, video | 1 Comment »

July 8th, 2008 by Stinkhead


Jack and I finally got to talk about my infamous HD for Kids coloring book, starring Heidi, the HD Hippo on Magic 106.5. You too can download this free PDF and give it to your kids to color, or use it yourself to learn all about HD. In the meantime, click below to listen to the radio spot.
Read the rest of this entry »


Posted in 5&up, crafts, cringe, Magic106.5 | Comments Off

NonToxicReviews.com

Contact us:
Editor AT NonToxicReviews.com


Join our Facebook group

AddThis Feed Button

Categories

Archives


click here to give me advice


Wordpress Theme powered by AgeOwns.com | ©AgeOwns Productions