NonToxicReviews.comNonToxicReviews.com
HomePage Reviews Store Podcast

November 27th, 2007 by Stinkhead


Click here to buy from Amazon.com
Click to buy from Amazon.com

(with help from Tuxxer)

8 out of 10
Avast ye scurvy dogs. Sure ‘n ye be wantin’ ta know what the final entry in the billion-dollar franchise be like. Whether it be a worthy addition to yer DVD treasure trove? Sure and it is. Sure and it is.
At World’s End starts off setting a grimmer tone than its predecessors, no mean feat when said movies feature undead pirates and cursed sea monster sailors. The masterful attention to detail that made the previous movies such visual treats is likewise found here. The special effects are out of this world.
Read the rest of this entry »


Posted in 10&up, Movies, review | Comments Off

November 19th, 2007 by Stinkhead



Download PDF
(1Mb)

Here is a children’s book you can make for your little one. Take pictures of yourself doing your morning routine and print them out at 4X6″. Then download and print out my PDF of visual sound effects (like Batman, Biff! POW!), cut them out and attach each one to the appropriate picture (there’s a list on the PDF).
Have fun showing your child how you get ready in the morning, verbalizing the sound effects, or take pictures of your toddler getting ready, and make their morning routine more fun. You can then insert these pictures into a standard 4X6″ flippy photo album to “bind” it.

Check out my example… I recommend really hamming it up.
View my whole book!

View my other original Children’s books, some you can print and use yourself.


Posted in 2&up, 3&up, baby, books, Boys, crafts, DIY, downloadbook, Girls | 2 Comments »

November 15th, 2007 by Stinkhead


I made this book for my son using only playmobil. I put this in a photo album.



Keep reading for the rest!
Read the rest of this entry »


Posted in baby, books, Boys, crafts, DIY, downloadbook, Girls, playmobil | 6 Comments »

November 14th, 2007 by Stinkhead


Click here to buy from Amazon.com
Click to buy from Amazon.com

My wife and I just picked up Disney’s Jungle Book which was recently released on DVD. We enjoyed it fine enough, but it leant a bit of extra entertainment when watching TaleSpin which borrows a few characters from Jungle Book, such as Baloo, King Louie, and Shere Khan. (KHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAN!) We also got Duck Tales Volume 3. Both of these volumes are available now on DVD. Read the rest of this entry »


Posted in Boys, Girls, Movies, review | Comments Off

November 13th, 2007 by WVNinja


That’s right, I’m no longer me. I used to be Bobby, Bob, Bobbo or (to a select group of people) Robert. But that was the August 27th me. Back then I was sometimes even referred to as Emily’s husband. Now, now I’m Chase’s Dad. Not that that’s a terrible thing to be.  In fact, I love being Chase’s Dad. And if you’re reading this article on this website, I’ll assume that you love being (insert name of adorable spawn here)’s Dad. If that’s not the case and you’re looking for the article entitled “Where’s the Abort Button!” you’re kind of out of luck.

In addition to being a new father, I’m also a children’s author, substitute teacher (I taught kindergarten for three years), and co-youth pastor.  I like moderately sized strolls through the woods, golf (more often than not this becomes a repeat of the previous hobby), watching sports, reading, daydreaming, cooking, eating, and camping.

The plan is that every week (probably Tuesdays) I’ll sit down and share my ramblings on fatherhood and such things that might loosely be related to fatherhood.

Next week I’ll be discussing the new super powers I’ve gained since being a dad.

Until then I hope all your diapers are contained and your nights uneventful.

CD (aka Bobbo aka WVNinja)


Posted in baby | Comments Off

November 12th, 2007 by Stinkhead


My infant is just learning his colors, and he loves looking at logos. I love that he loves logos, as I am a graphic designer. Plus, logos are typically high contrast, high impact, and well thought out. More thought went into the Sun computer systems logo, than went into the design of that Baby Einsteen hedgehog or whatever he is… so here is the children’s book I made for my son. You can view it online here, OR, download and print it out to share with your child. Here is the 4.3Mb Printable PDF version.
I put these pages inside a super cheap 4X6 flippy photo album. That way they’re kind of plastic coated, but if he destroys the book, I’m only out a buck or two. I can add to and take away…etc etc.
So check out the online version, and feel free to download the PDF and use it to help your child learn his or her colors with beautiful corporate logos and brands.



Check out all the color pages

And check out all of the other free childrens books we have for download


Posted in 2&up, baby, books, crafts, downloadbook | 4 Comments »

November 10th, 2007 by Stinkhead


If you use the internet, you know there are two times a year that DeepDiscount runs their super 20% off sale. Well it just started. You have from now until November 25th. Stock up for the holidays and birthdays now. And remember, it’s free shipping.
You can buy anything you want, as much as you want, but I think you can only use the coupon code once. The code is

SUPERSALE

So, what are you waiting for? Go check out how much whatever box set is that you’re looking for… and then subtract 20% off (and remember, free shipping)… hurry! (Does not count towards pre-orders)
This is the best DVD sale of the year. (Well they do this once more in the spring… so it is twice a year)
DeepDiscount


Posted in good deals | Comments Off

November 8th, 2007 by Stinkhead


I recently got the slew of McDonalds Bee Movie premium. I haven’t seen the movie these are based on, but if you have a little one that enjoyed the movie, they’re probably going to want to get their sticky fingers on these toys. Pics and review inside.
Read the rest of this entry »


Posted in 3&up, review | Comments Off

November 7th, 2007 by Stinkhead



I recently stumbled across an article highlighting odd looking USB thumb drive devices found on the web. After having recently attended a conference where USB thumb drives were in short supply, I decided to make my own distinct try. I picked the playmobil Astronaut special for a few reasons. First off, he’s cool looking. Secondly, he’s available now online and at independant toy stores. (The Target version has a tinted face shield). Being widely available, he’s still available for $3 or less. And thirdly, his helmet snapping on and off would make a great cap for when I ram the drive in my pocket or laptop case.
Read the rest of this entry »


Posted in crafts, DIY, gadgets, how to, playmobil | 1 Comment »

November 6th, 2007 by Stinkhead


Click here to buy from amazon
Click to buy from Amazon.com


I wasn’t able to see Ratatouille in theaters due to my wife being pregnant at the time. I’ve been chomping at the bit, to finally be able to see this movie. Now that I have, I’m as pleased as punch.

The thing about Pixar movies (aside from Cars) is that I have a hard time putting them in order of favorites. They’re just all so good. I liked the Toy Storys, but I lovvved Bugs Life, Monsters Inc., The Incredibles and damn, if I can’t wait to watch Finding Nemo with my son in a few years, more than any other movie.

The Movie
I loved the premise of a rat with an overdeveloped sense of smell longing to be a chef. I really enjoyed the physical antics that came with him controlling the gangly garbage boy, Linguinis by hiding under his hat. If you haven’t seen this movie, but enjoy the other Pixar movies, you will certainly enjoy this film. The humor is fresh, and animation quality is top notch, and the story doesn’t rely on an abundance of celebrity voices and pop culture references. This movie will be a hit with kids even 10 years from now. Most of the other drek out there will not make anysense in another couple of years.

I won’t spoil the ending, but it completely caught me off guard. It was unexpected, and I guess, satisfying. I’m glad it wasn’t the cliche’d ending, and the more I think about it, I don’t know how I would have done it differently.

Overall, I think this is the best animated movie since The Incredibles. (Pssst… though not Pixar, Monster House is a lot of fun, but not for the wee little kids)

The Extras
We have the Monsters Inc two-disc set. It has games, Japanese TV spots, behind the scenes, way too much to lst here. The extras on Ratatouille are a tiny bit lacking. My number one complaint, I don’t think the little kids will enjoy the extras all that much. There are some animated storyboards showing some deleted scenes, but those are bumpered by director Brad Bird, and are clearly intended for animation afficiando. It’s good stuff, but I don’t know if the little kids will like it. There is one feature I really liked called Your Friend, The Rat, an animated history of the relationship between rats and people. Inspired by filmstrips of the 50s, it’s hosted by Remy and Emile, and was a lot of fun. If your kid took an interest in rats at all, then this will be entertaining. There weren’t a lot of big name celebrities the kids would recognize, so the Making-Of documentary is mainly Bird talking about story decisions. Also included was the theatrical short Lifted, about an alien on some type of driving test. Though funny, it didn’t have the heart of For the Birds (my favorite), or the one with the old guy playing chess with himself. (Uh… Geri’s Game)

Final Verdict
I really enjoyed this movie, and am glad to have it on DVD. There weren’t a lot of extras, but they’re really not necessary. You don’t want the kids spending that long in front of the TV anyway. If you’re a film buff or aspire to a world of animation, you’ll enjoy some of the behind the scenes material.

Pick up Ratatouille today from Amazon.com.

Click here to get tix
Click to buy from Amazon.com

Pixar Shorts on DVD
Also available today is the first collection of Pixar shorts, all on one DVD. You’ll get the ones you’ve seen prior to the big theatrical movies, such as Geri’s Game, for the Birds, Boundin’ but you’ll also get the shorts that helped put Pixar on the map, such as Luxo Jr. and Tin Toy. I didn’t know about the unicycle short Red’s Dream or The Adventures of Andre and Wally B. Other than those two, these have all appeared on DVD in some shape or form, but it’s great getting them all together in one spot. Running just under an hour, this is more for the animation buffs. But the kids will probably enjoy them as well. There are commentaries and some behind-the-scenes features as well.
You can buy Pixar Short Films on DVD from Amazon.com


Posted in 3&up, Boys, cooking, Girls, Movies, review | Comments Off

Next page

NonToxicReviews.com

Contact us:
Editor AT NonToxicReviews.com


Join our Facebook group

AddThis Feed Button

Categories

Archives


click here to give me advice


Wordpress Theme powered by AgeOwns.com | ©AgeOwns Productions