NonToxicReviews.comNonToxicReviews.com
HomePage Reviews Store Podcast

April 30th, 2008 by Stinkhead



Several times a year, Wizard Entertainment publishes Toy Wishes a magazine for kids and their parents, outlining the toys that are coming out in the current season. This is the spring issue, so look forward to lots of toys based on the hot summer movie properties, such as Hulk, Indiana Jones, Speed Racer (biiig reviews from me very soon), Iron Man, and Kung Fu Panda..

If you have a hard time watching long stretches of Dora the Explorer, you are missing out on the advertisements your kids are seeing. This magazine tries to sum up the stuff that’s coming out, but since its from a third party publisher, you’re getting an unbiased view. There aren’t reviews necessarily, more of a buffet presentation of what’s coming soon, prices, and appropriate age ranges.

I particularly liked the articles that both myself and a young child would enjoy about professional toy designers, detailing how they got started, what they did in school, and what they enjoy most now. There was also a thorough article about throwing sensible birthday parties that aren’t way over the top, or putting you in debt.

The magazine is nicely divided up into genres, such as Television properties, outdoorsy toys, action figures, and active toys (such as bikes and sporting equipment).

Think back to when that inch thick Sears Wish Book arrived, and there was a two page spread of Star Wars figures layed out with the Emperial Shuttle, or the AT-AT. Instead of directly selling you anything, it’s giving you a compact run down of what to look for. I do like how it’s appropriate for young readers, and their parents. There are some sweet massive Sweepstakes inside as well.

The bottom line is that, yes, they’re promoting the “buy-me’s” you’re going to receive as a parent this summer, but it’s not a catalog from one company or another, so you’re getting a more balanced view of what is out there.

You can pick up this magazine just about anywhere, but here is their official web site ToyWishes.com

Just a side note, Wizard Entertainment also publishes ToyFare Magazine, a journal of happenings in the toy collector world, and Wizard Magazine, the definitive comic book collectors’ magazine. I have written some freelance articles for ToyFare.


Posted in books, Boys, crafts, Girls, good deals, how to, kids, linky, review, toys | Comments Off

April 29th, 2008 by Stinkhead


Last time I talked about playmobil 1-2-3 (for 18months & up), this week on Magic 106.5 I’m talking about the playmobil dinosaurs (intended for ages 4 & up). There are two groups of reviews, the first was the meat eaters, the other was the vegetarians. All in all these are very well made, and will last a life time. They’re reasonably priced too. Click below to give this 3 minute segment a listen.
Read the rest of this entry »


Posted in 3&up, Magic106.5, playmobil | Comments Off

April 29th, 2008 by Stinkhead


Sweet! Here is their Location finder to find a B & J near you.
There will probably be a line…

And if you like ice cream, be sure to check out my custom playmobil Ice Cream Truck (with directions to make your own!)


Posted in event, good deals, linky, news, playmobil | Comments Off

April 28th, 2008 by Stinkhead


This weekend I bought some tubs at Target and fully intended to start making the basement baby-proof. However, this was just so much easier a solution

I got a lot of Speed Racer and Kung Fu Panda toys this past week, so I’ll start getting those reviews up shortly.


Posted in baby, cringe, how to | Comments Off

April 23rd, 2008 by Stinkhead


Just last week I posted a link to my first round of playmobil dinosaur reviews, well here’s part 2! In this episode I look at the Triceratops with exploding volcano and Brachiosaurus playsets. Lots of fun, and a great value for all the stuff you’re getting. How can you top an exploding playmo-volcano?

Added bonus, head out to Michaels Craft store and you can pick up kid sized foam Safari Hat, just like these playmo explorers wear. Not bad for $4
Check out this review with loads of pics.


Posted in 3&up, Boys, kids, linky, playmobil, review, toys | 1 Comment »

April 22nd, 2008 by Stinkhead


So this is Earth Day, and what have you done?Well I’m getting more and more worried about the BPA leaching into baby bottles issue, it not only seems more real, it seems more impossible to reverse, at least in our own family. My wife used Nalgene bottles for the better part of the last decade or so, all throughout the pregnancy and breastfeeding. Even if we ditch all of our Avent bottles and go with something safer, is that enough? Is it too late? I’m all about being an informed consumer and making my own decisions, but on this particular issue, chemistry and babies, I’d like a little more assistance from the government.
Here is some reliable reporting, full of links
Washington Post- 4/22/08- “The Plastics Revolution” (includes link to online discussion at 11am!) lots of links to other sources, and a quick guide to those recycling symbols, and a guide to limiting your exposure.

Consumer Reports – April 2008 -“Q&A: Baby bottles and bisphenol A”

SafeMama.com Nov. 2007 – “BPA Free Bottle and Sippy Cup Cheat Sheet”

Please leave comments on your feelings, and what have you done?


Posted in baby, how to, linky, news | Comments Off

April 18th, 2008 by Stinkhead


click for dinosI reviewed the new Playmobil Dinosaurs over on MillionairePlayboy.com  Check out the review with over 60 pics. There’s another review coming earlier next week with even more dinos.
In this review I covered: 4176 – 4 Wheeler | 4173 – Pteranadon | 4175- Amphibian Vehicle with Deinonychus | 4174 – Spinosaurus, Babies and Explorers| 4171 – T-Rex and Raptors

next week is the Triceratops and exploding volcano, and the Brachiasaurus playset.
Awesome.


Posted in 3&up, Boys, kids, playmobil, review, toys | Comments Off

April 18th, 2008 by Stinkhead


Yesterday I discussed the playmobil 1-2-3 line with Magic 106.5‘s Jack Logar in the morning. We talked about how it’s extremely safe, because it’s produced in Europe, not China, and how it lasts forever, so you’ll get years of play value out of it. Click below to listen to the clip
Read the rest of this entry »


Posted in 2&up, Magic106.5, playmobil | Comments Off

April 15th, 2008 by Stinkhead


This past week we discussed the RC General Lee and the Easy Dunk Basketball hoop.  You can listen to the clip below. I also called in later to the show to promote the new I Need Advice feature here on NTR. Click that button on the side bar and view topics that we’re asking for advice on. Please leave a comment underneath offering your own advice. I’ve attached a clip you can listen to on the one about Soothing a crying baby, click to listen and then add your own advice.

Read the rest of this entry »


Posted in 10&up, 2&up, good deals, Magic106.5, Remote Control, sports, toys | 1 Comment »

April 13th, 2008 by Stinkhead


click hereYou saw the playmobil booth we visited at Toy Fair this year. For those of you parents that can’t wait until your kid hits age 4 (the age recommended to start on their playmo addiction) there is Playmobil 1-2-3 recommended for children ages 1 1/2 and up. The people are chunkier with less moving parts (sounds like they need to go on NBC’s Biggest Loser), they’re intended for smaller fingers, but the people are still choking hazards, so these are not for kids under 18 months. They’re made in Germany, so you can trust that they are lead free. Check out all the playmobil 1-2-3 sets that are new this year, including our large I have over 40 pics of these sets in our gallery.
Read the rest of this entry »


Posted in 2&up, Boys, Girls, kids, playmobil, review, toys | Comments Off

Next page

NonToxicReviews.com

Contact us:
Editor AT NonToxicReviews.com


Join our Facebook group

AddThis Feed Button

Categories

Archives


click here to give me advice


Wordpress Theme powered by AgeOwns.com | ©AgeOwns Productions